Marvel movies: Final MCU timeline – what order should you watch?

must you realize one situation concerning the Marvel movies, it’s this: there are a lot of them. in reality, from Ed Norton’s take of The Unbelievable Hulk, through Chris Hemsworth’s first outing as Thor and the various Iron Man movies with Robert Downey Jr, there are 23 instalments in franchise’s first three phases.

however what order should you watch all of them in? properly, must you’ve bought a number of spare days to look at the entire Infinity Saga (a spare two days, two hours and three minutes, to be exact), there are two totally different strategies to get pleasure out of your marathon session. Either you’ll offer you the prospect to look at within the order the flicks flew into cinemas otherwiSe you’ll offer you the prospect to line up the superhero adventures in chronological order.

How? right here’s all the pieces you’d prefer to know…

Order 1 – the cinema chronology

right here’s when the MCU movies have been first launched on cinema screens:

Section one

Iron Man (might, 2008)

The Unbelievable Hulk (June, 2008)

Iron Man 2 (might, 2010)

Thor (might, 2011)

Captain America: the primary Avenger (July 22, 2011)

Avengers Assemble (might 4, 2012)

Section 2

Iron Man three (might, 2013)

Thor: The darkish World (November, 2013)

Captain America: The Winter Soldier  (April, 2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy (August, 2014)

Avengers: Age of Ultron (might, 2015)

Ant-Man (July, 2015)

Avenger's Age of Ultron

Section three

Captain America: Civil warfare (might, 2016)

doctor unusual (November, 2016)

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (might, 2017)

Spider-Man: Homecoming (July, 2017)

Thor: Ragnarok (November, 2017)

Black Panther  (February, 2018)

Avengers: Infinity warfare (April, 2018)

Ant-Man and the Wasp (July, 2018)

Captain Marvel (March, 2019)

Avengers: Endgame (April, 2019)

Spider-Man: faraway from residence (July, 2019)


Section 4

Black Widow (1st might, 2020)

The Eternals (Sixth November, 2020)

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (Twelfth February, 2021)

Untitled third Spider-Man Film (Sixteenth July, 2021)

doctor unusual within the Multiverse of madness (Seventh might, 2021)

Thor: Love and Thunder (Fifth November, 2021)

Order 2 – the in-universe chronology

simply to make issues a bit extra difFicult, the MCU movies don’t always obServe on from every totally different.

whereas the fifth Film to be launched, Captain America: the primary Avenger is admittedly the primary entry on the Marvel timeline, set on the peak of the primary World warfare. And although launched after Infinity warfare, Brie Larson’s first Captain Marvel outing is the second adventure on the Marvel timeline, the overwhelming majority of the Film happening in 1995.

  1. Captain America: the primary Avenger (1942)
  2. Captain Marvel (1995)
  3. Iron Man (2010)
  4. Iron Man 2 (2011)
  5. The Unbelievable Hulk (2011)
  6. Thor (2011)
  7. The Avengers (2012)
  8. Iron Man three (2012)
  9. Thor: The darkish World (2013)
  10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (2014)
  13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  14. Ant-Man (2015)
  15. Captain America: Civil warfare (2016)
  16. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2016)
  17. doctor unusual (2016-2017)
  18. Black Widow (2017)
  19. Black Panther (2017)
  20. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  21. Ant-Man and the Wasp (2017)
  22. Avengers: Infinity warfare (2017)
  23. Avengers: Endgame (2018-2023)
  24. Spider-Man: faraway from residence (2023)

What’s the largest order to look at the Marvel movies?

the Selection is utterly yours – there’s no improper means. however, with that acknowledged, you positively must keep up away from viewing the Film chronologically must you’re an MCU newbie.

First off: likelihood is you’ll battle to take into consideration the background of sure characters. Captain Marvel, for event, will probably be launched within the second Film within the itemizing solely to next be mentioned over Forty video show hours later.

Plus, you’ll offer you the prospect to have the reverSe draw back and spend too lots with totally different superheroes – as lots as we love Tony Stark, his character arc can feel rushed must you watch Iron Man and Iron Man 2 again to again.

As properly, making Captain Marvel your second MCU Film means you miss out on the in-jokes and references established over 17 movies.

Captain Marvel

Brie Larson in Captain Marvel (Marvel Studios)

However, ardent Marvel followers will reap the rewards of re-watching the saga chronologically. Not solely will this give extra depth to the backstory of some key characters (Avengers stalwart Nick Fury being the prime example), however viewing the flicks on this order brings a brand new understanding of the MCU timeline (who knew the occasions of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 1 and a pair of have been solely months aside?.

the place am i able to watch the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe?

As Marvel is owned by Disney, you’ll offer you the prospect to look at most MCU movies by subscribing to streaming service Disney+ (AccessiBle from March Twenty Fourth).

In alphabetical order, right here’s what’s AccessiBle to look at on Disney+:

Ant-Man and The Wasp
Avengers: Infinity warfare
Avengers: Endgame
Black Panther
Captain America: Civil warfare
Captain America: the primary Avenger
Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Captain Marvel
doctor unusual
Guardians of The Galaxy
Guardians of The Galaxy Vol. 2
Iron Man
Iron Man 2
Iron Man three
Marvel’s Avengers: Age of Ultron
Marvel’s The Avengers
Thor: Ragnarok
Thor: The darkish World